Grants Awarded in 2009

OPERATING GRANTS for Arts Organizations (Year 2 of 2-Year Cycle)

0 requests: $0
0 awarded: $0

Alliance chorale Manitoba Inc.
Association of Manitoba Book Publishers
Cercle Molière
Crossing Communities Art Project
Festival du Voyageur
Folk Arts Council of Winnipeg (Folklorama)
Gilbert & Sullivan
Jazz Winnipeg
Little Opera Company
Manitoba Association of Playwrights
Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Manitoba Choral Association
Manitoba Conservatory of Music & Arts
Manitoba Opera
Manitoba Printmakers Association
Manitoba Theatre Centre
Manitoba Theatre for Young People
Manitoba Writers' Guild
MAWA: Mentoring Artists for Women's Art
NAfro Dance Productions
National Screen Institute
PLATFORM: centre for photographic + digital arts
Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art
Prairie Fire Press
Prairie Theatre Exchange
Rainbow Stage
Royal Winnipeg Ballet
Ruth Cansfield Dance
School of Contemporary Dancers
Shakespeare in the Ruins
Storyline FX Inc. (Freeze Frame)
Theatre Projects Manitoba
TRIP Dance Company
Urban Shaman: Contemporary Aboriginal Art
Video Pool Media Arts Centre
West End Cultural Centre
Winnipeg Art Gallery
Winnipeg Film Group
Winnipeg Folk Festival
Winnipeg International Children's Festival
Winnipeg International Writers Festival
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra
Winnipeg Music Festival
Winnipeg Philharmonic Choir
Winnipeg Singers
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra
Winnipeg Youth Orchestras
Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers
WJT (Winnipeg Jewish Theatre)

AUDIENCE DEVELOPMENT GRANTS (Pilot) for Arts Organizations

33 requests: $406,137
8 awarded: $94,637

Manitoba Aboriginal Music Host Committee
Manitoba Theatre for Young People
PLATFORM: Centre for Photographic & Digital Arts
Urban Shaman: Contemporary Aboriginal Art
West End Cultural Centre
Writers' Collective
Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers
Winnipeg Folk Festival

PROJECT GRANTS for Arts Organizations and Collectives

19 requests: $199,600
11 awarded: $84,000

Camerata Nova
Gearshifting Performance Works
Le 100 Nons
Mayworks Festival of Labour and the Arts
out of line theatre
send + receive: a festival of sound
Theatre by the River
Winnipeg Gay and Lesbian Film Society
Winnipeg Studio Theatre Inc.

INDIVIDUAL ARTIST GRANTS for Artists Working In All Artistic Disciplines

83 requests: $296,528
21 awarded: $78,700

Kendra Ballingall
Daniel Barrow
Ginny Collins
Leah Decter
Ming Hon
Jeanette Johns
Paula Kelly
Keri Latimer
Arne MacPherson
Ruth Maendel
Sylvia Matas
Ross McMillan
Chris Pancoe
Matthew Patton
Bev Pike
Coleen Rajotte
John K. Samson
Alix Sobler
Jennifer Stillwell
Diana Thorneycroft
Katherena Vermette


14 requests: $188,475
4 awarded: $45,000

Art City
Winnipeg Aboriginal Film and Video Festival

NEW CREATIONS FUND GRANTS for Arts Organizations

12 requests: $464,358
6 awarded: $170,025

Cercle Molière
MTYP - Manitoba Theatre for Young People
Osborne Village Cultural Centre
PLATFORM: Centre for Photographic & Digital Arts
Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art
WJT - Winnipeg Jewish Theatre

PROJECT GRANTS for Arts Organizations and Collectives

24 requests: $261,094
11 awarded: $99,294

Agassiz Music Incorporated
Carl Orff Canada - Manitoba Orff Chapter
CV2 - Contemporary Verse 2
Der Geist Theatre
Maison des artistes visuels francophones
Manito Ahbee Festival Incorporated
Rady JCC - Rose and Max Rady Jewish Community Centre
Theatre Incarnate
Théâtre Vice Versa Theatre
Virtuosi Concerts Inc.
Winnipeg Classical Guitar Society

INDIVIDUAL ARTIST GRANTS for Artists Working In All Artistic Disciplines

81 requests: $305,600
18 awarded: $74,600

Karen Asher
Danny Carroll
Ben Clarkson
Janice Finlay
Brenna George
Maureen Hunter
Kier-La Janisse
Allan Levine
Andew Milne
Christina Penner
Ellen Peterson
Miriam Rudolph
Douglas Smith
Scott Stephens
Reva Stone
Treasure Waddell
John Weier
Lisa Wood

Assessors for 2009: Stephanie Ballard, Andrea Bell, Victor Enns, Clarise Foster, Kayla Gordon, Charles Shilliday, Jazz de Montigny, Javier Schwersensky, Josée Vaillancourt, Reid Harrison, Milena Placentile, Danielle Sturk, Lise Gaboury-Diallo, Hannah Godfrey, James Keelaghan, Laurie Lam, Nicole Owens, Scott Stephens, Gary Yates, Jeff Gillman, Maeengan Linklater, Jennie O'Keefe, Megan Tate , Christine Fellows, Arne MacPherson, Dominique Rey, Johanne Gingras, Holly Harris, Jaimie Isaac, Rea Kavanagh, Derek Aasland, Elvira Finnigan, Ariel Gordon, Gabriela Rehak, Paul Robles, Sheila Spence