(Winnipeg, April 10, 2019) - The call is open for nominees for the 2019 Honorary Awards! As a part of the celebration of The Evies in 2019, four special community awards will be presented.

The Evies are specially named after Winnipeg actor and theatre pioneer Evelyne Anderson. Hailed as "the grand dame of Winnipeg theatre," Evelyne was the first-ever recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, and a shining star within the Winnipeg Theatre Community.

The Winnipeg Theatre Awards organizing committee, sponsored by the Gail Asper Family Foundation, is inviting community members to make nominations for four honorary awards which will be presented as part of the awards gala on November 4th, 2019 at the West End Cultural Centre.

The Honorary Awards provide an opportunity for community members to recognize individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the local theatre community in four categories:

1. Career Contribution Award

This award will celebrate the career of an artist (actor, director, choreographer, designer, stage manager, fight director) who has, for a minimum of twenty-five years, made significant contributions to, and done outstanding work in the Winnipeg theatre community. Nominees may be retired or still actively working in the community. To be considered for this award, a nominee should have a substantial body of work demonstrating a wide breadth of experience.

2. Behind The Scenes Award

This award will recognize an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a long-standing dedication to Winnipeg theatre, working behind the scenes as a remunerated theatre professional. Examples of eligible nominees include production personnel, theatre administrators, and producers.

3. Theatre Champion Award

This Award will recognize an individual who has demonstrated long-standing dedication to Winnipeg theatre in a non-remunerated position. Examples of eligible nominees include long-term volunteers, board members, donors, sponsors, and individuals who support the theatre community through personal commitment/activism/artistic input or a combination of the above.

4. Theatre Educator Award

This award will honour an educator whose long standing dedication to teaching theatre has made a lasting contribution to their students and community by: fostering a passion for theatre, engaging the students' creativity and imaginations, building teamwork skills, developing discipline and focus, giving them a greater confidence in their own capabilities, instilling in them strong feelings of self esteem and personal value. Nominees may focus on:
1. Training students to enter the profession or pursue further training in a more intensive professional training program and/or
2. Enriching the lives of the students and those with whom they share their work, but not necessarily with the underlying goal of sending students into the profession.

Examples of eligible nominees include teachers of acting, musical theatre, dance, drama courses, voice, improv, production, and design.

These Honorary Awards, recognizing the diversity, depth, and dedication of Winnipeg's exceptional theatre community, will be presented at the gala ceremony on November 4, 2019. Recipients of the Honorary Awards will be announced prior to the awards ceremony.

Nominations can be submitted online here.

The call for nominations closes on June 30th, 2019.

About The Evies: The Evies (Winnipeg Theatre Awards) are organized by a non-profit, volunteer committee to celebrate, recognize, and acknowledge excellence in the theatre arts by presenting annual awards that reflect the diversity and depth of talent on Winnipeg stages in production and performance.

For more information, contact:

Mariam Bernstein and Donna Fletcher

Honorary Awards Co-Chairs

Winnipeg Theatre Awards


Phone: (204) 898-3031 and (204) 489-9095


Twitter: @WpgThtrAwards