Winnipeg Theatre Awards: Celebrating Another Outstanding Year With the Winnipeg Theatre Community, November 4

2019 marks the third annual awards event recognizing the rich talent in Winnipeg's exceptional theatre community.

Winnipeg, September 20, 2019: Honorary Award recipients have been revealed for the Winnipeg Theatre Awards, to be held on November 4, 2019 at the West End Cultural Centre.

This is the third annual awards event recognizing the dedication and rich talent in Winnipeg's exceptional theatre community.

This year's awards ceremony will be co-hosted by Jane Testar and RobYn Slade, two of the powerhouses behind Outside Joke, the Winnipeg-based improvisation theatre company.

Over the past year, nominations were invited from the Winnipeg community for four Honorary Awards. Recipients of these awards, to be presented at the 2019 ceremony, are:

Career Contribution Award

Brian Perchaluk is a graduate of the University of Winnipeg and the National Theatre School of Canada. He has designed productions for major arts companies across the country including Neptune Theatre, Theatre Passe Muraille, the Grand Theatre, the Blyth Festival, the National Arts Centre, Prairie Theatre Exchange, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet, Le Cercle Moliere, Manitoba Theatre for Young People, Manitoba Opera, Persephone Theatre, Theatre Calgary, Alberta Theatre Projects, the Citadel Theatre, the Vancouver Playhouse, the Arts Club Theatre, the Belfry Theatre, more than 45 productions for the Manitoba Theatre Centre, and two seasons at each the Shaw and Stratford Festivals. Recent credits include "Semele" for Pacific Opera Victoria, "The Shunning" and "After Miss Julie" for the Manitoba Theatre Centre, "The Secret Mask" for PTE, "To Kill a Mockingbird" for Theatre Calgary, and "Fidelio" for Atlantic Ballet Theatre. He is a recipient of a Jessie Richardson and Prix Rideau awards for outstanding set design, and a Gemini Award for production design.

Behind The Scenes Award

Melinda Tallin has spent over 25 years in the field of theatre administrative support in Winnipeg, first at Prairie Theatre Exchange and then with Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, and now shares that experience while helping students in the University of Winnipeg Theatre & Film Department navigate their way through to their chosen careers. Along the way she has been fortunate to work with hundreds of incredible local, national and international artists, and alongside others whose passion and life work is to assist those artists achieve their goals. Melinda is proud to sit on the board of the Manitoba Association of Playwrights, and is a member of the Sweet Silver Flute Choir.

Theatre Champion Award

Charles Huband was the instigator, then a life-long builder, of Prairie Theatre Exchange. When the theatre school at MTC closed in the 1970s, Charles formed a board and, with Colin Jackson, established not only a new theatre school, but a theatre company focused on living Canadian authors and new play development: Prairie Theatre Exchange. When the company grew to the point where it needed a larger, updated facility, Charles' extraordinary advocacy, strategizing and successful fundraising capital campaign enabled the move to Portage Place. Between 1972 and the present, Charles has served on, and chaired the PTE board, mentored staff, led fundraising, and inaugurated the PTE Foundation Trust, ensuring a strong future for the company. Charles Huband is indeed a theatre champion. Thanks to his vision - students, communities across Manitoba, theatre artists, emerging and established Canadian playwrights can come together at PTE to share the joy of theatre.

Theatre Educator Award

An active member of the performing arts community, Kayla Gordon has been a Winnipeg based theatre educator and mentor for nearly four decades. In addition to being an Instructor at Prairie Theatre Exchange, MTYP and the University of Manitoba, she taught high school drama for twelve years. Most recently, after 18 years, she retired from the University of Winnipeg where she taught acting and musical theatre.

Kayla's passion for theatre was the driving force behind founding the Manitoba Drama Educators' Association and the Manitoba Drama Youth Festival for middle and high school students. Now in its 38th year, it has introduced thousands of students throughout the Province to the theatrical art form.

A career highlight was the cross-cultural play Tangled Souls, an original work by Rick Chafe created with students from from Norway House and Winnipeg. Performed in Winnipeg, Norway House and Thompson it garnered a Governor General's Award.

A co-founder of Winnipeg Studio Theatre and its training wing StudioWorks Academy, she has relished offering many emerging artists their first professional contracts. Called 'the gate-keeper' for young artists, she is fondly referred to as 'Mama K'. Kayla has educated, nurtured and defined artists and art forms and has been instrumental in the ongoing success of Winnipeg's theatrical community.

Tickets to the Winnipeg Theatre Awards are on sale now!

New to the awards this year are multi-tiered tickets! In order to keep the event accessible to all, tickets are available in advance at $15, $25, and $35. They can also be purchased at the door of the West End Cultural Centre for $30. Prices and information can be found by going to

Nominees for the general award categories will be announced in early October.