Grants Awarded in 2008

PROJECT GRANTS for Arts Organizations and Collectives

17 requests: $170,500
7 awarded: $60,000

Art City
Camerata Nova
Dry Cold Productions
Manitoba Crafts Council
Sarasvàti Dramatic Theatre Productions and Repertory
Send + Receive: A Festival of Sound
Women's Musical Club of Winnipeg

INDIVIDUAL ARTIST GRANTS for Artists Working In All Artistic Disciplines

92 requests: $338,621
23 awarded: $75,000

Gwen Armstrong
Sharon Bajer
Darek Dawda
Michael Dudeck
Mia Feuer
Vince Fontaine
Carolyn Gray
Darryl Kinaschuk
Donna Kroeker
J.J. Kegan McFadden
Lorri Millan
Freya Olafson
Victoria Prince
Mélanie Rocan
Orjan Sandred
Alicia Smith
Cyrus Smith
Gordon Tanner
Daniel Thau-Eleff
John Toone
Natasha Torres-Garner
Katherena Vermette
Calvin Yarush

PROJECT GRANTS for Arts Organizations and Collectives

14 requests: $176,600
7 awarded: $63,600

Adhere and Deny
Home Routes
Maison des artistes visuels francophones
out of line theatre Co-op Inc.
Virtuosi Concerts
Winnipeg Classical Guitar Society
Winnipeg Gay and Lesbian Film Society


6 requests: $73,700
4 awarded: $44,500

Manitoba Conservatory of Music & Art
Manitoba Great Wall Performing Arts
Video Pool Media Arts Centre
Winnipeg Art Gallery

NEW CREATIONS FUND GRANTS for Arts Organizations

11 requests: $643,175
7 awarded: $239,000

Manitoba Printmakers' Association
Prairie Fire Press
Sarasvàti Dramatic Theatre Productions and Repertory
School of Contemporary Dancers
Shakespeare in the Ruins
Theatre Projects Manitoba
Winnipeg Art Gallery

OPERATING GRANTS for Arts Organizations (3- Year Agreement)

0 requests: $0
0 awarded: $0

Alliance chorale Manitoba Inc.
Association of Manitoba Book Publishers
Cercle Molière
Crossing Communities Art Project
Festival du Voyageur
Folk Arts Council of Winnipeg (Folklorama)
Gilbert & Sullivan
Jazz Winnipeg
Little Opera Company
Manitoba Association of Playwrights
Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Manitoba Choral Association
Manitoba Conservatory of Music & Arts
Manitoba Opera
Manitoba Printmakers Association
Manitoba Theatre Centre
Manitoba Theatre for Young People
Manitoba Writers' Guild
MAWA: Mentoring Artists for Women's Art
NAfro Dance Productions
National Screen Institute
PLATFORM: centre for photographic + digital arts
Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art
Prairie Fire Press
Prairie Theatre Exchange
Rainbow Stage
Royal Winnipeg Ballet
Ruth Cansfield Dance
School of Contemporary Dancers
Shakespeare in the Ruins
Storyline FX Inc. (Freeze Frame)
Theatre Projects Manitoba
TRIP Dance Company
Urban Shaman: Contemporary Aboriginal Art
Video Pool Media Arts Centre
West End Cultural Centre
Winnipeg Art Gallery
Winnipeg Film Group
Winnipeg Folk Festival
Winnipeg International Children's Festival
Winnipeg International Writers Festival
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra
Winnipeg Music Festival
Winnipeg Philharmonic Choir
Winnipeg Singers
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra
Winnipeg Youth Orchestras
Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers
WJT (Winnipeg Jewish Theatre)

Assessors for 2008: Nancy Drake, Eric Lussier, Erika MacPherson, Natasha Torres-Garner, David Barber, Anita Daher, Kevin Klassen, Bonnie Marin, Steven Matjcio, Larry Strachan, Ann Hodges, Leigh-Anne Kehler, Rik Leaf, Erika MacPherson, Marie Bouchard, Ann Hodges, Leigh-Anne Kehler, Rik Leaf, Erika MacPherson, Donna Fletcher, Grant Guy, Brent Lott, Michael Matthews and Carol Rose, Stephanie Ballard, Andrea Bell, Victor Enns, Clarise Foster, Kayla Gordon, Charles Shilliday