Winnipeg Arts Council

2019 Mayor’s Luncheon for the Arts

The Annual Winnipeg Arts Council Awards were presented in front of a full house at the Mayor's Luncheon for the Arts on Friday, June 14, 2019 at the Fort Garry Hotel. The purpose of this annual celebration is to recognize and promote the arts, artists and partnerships that make Winnipeg a centre for cultural achievement.

It was an afternoon full of laughter, music and celebrating hosted by the hilarious Chanty Marostica, with incredible performances from The Mariachi Ghost, Stephanie Sy, Paul De Gurse and Poet Laureate Di Brandt. The keynote address given by playwright/activist Debbie Patterson encouraged us all to imagine a world without capitalism.

Mayor Bowman lauded local artist’s contributions to the community and stated, “I am proud to live in a place where artists are pushing for a new vision of what this city could be.”

Carol A. Phillips, the Executive Director of the Winnipeg Arts Council, usually hands out the awards but this time took one home as well. Senator Pat Bovey presented her with the Senate 150 Medal for her many years of service to the arts and artists.

Five Winnipeg Arts Council Awards were presented.

The RBC On the Rise Award recognizes the demonstrated promise of an emerging professional artist in any discipline.

The winner is Philippe Larouche. Nominated by Royal Winnipeg Ballet, dancer, stager, and choreographer, Philippe Larouche is Winnipeg trained from the RWB School Professional Division. Larouche apprenticed with the RWB and has gone on to stage works across North America.

The Making a Mark Award applauds an established professional artist, in any discipline, who is receiving critical recognition for excellence in their art practice in Winnipeg and beyond.

The winner is Jake MacDonald. Nominated by Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, writer Jake MacDonald has won 29 awards, and been published across Canada and the United States. His practice is rooted in a boundless curiosity about our relationship to the land.

The Making a Difference Award celebrates the contribution of an artist or arts administrator to the growth and development of the arts in Winnipeg.

The winner is Charlene Diehl. Nominated by Dave Barber, Charlene Diehl has transformed the Winnipeg International Writers Festival into one of the most highly-regarded literary festivals in the country especially as a powerful advocate for fostering diverse voices.

The Outstanding Volunteer Award honours an individual who has demonstrated an excep­tional commitment to volunteerism within the Winnipeg arts community.

The winner is Susan Algie. Nominated by the Winnipeg Architecture Foundation, Susan Algie, who established the Foundation in 1996, has shaped it into a nationally recognized cultural organization. Her volunteering efforts also included Artspace and the Winnipeg Fringe Festival.

The Arts Champion Award honours an individual or business patron that has demonstrated sustained support to the arts in Winnipeg. The winner is BMO Financial. Nominated by the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre and Manitoba Opera,

BMO is celebrating 200 years as an ambassador to the arts. BMO works with its community partners to shape the story of tomorrow by enriching culture through collaboration, education and innovation.

From Debbie Patterson's keynote address:

“We observe carefully ‘what actually is’ and then we imagine what could be. If we’re going to build a new paradigm, a new way of living and working and sharing and taking care of each other, we need artists to imagine what that new world is going to look like…This is the time and this is the place. This is the group of people who can make it happen. The alarm is ringing, don’t hit the snooze. Let’s wake up and get started.”

Debbie Patterson,
Mayor’s Luncheon for the Arts 2019