Winnipeg Arts Council

2024 Mayor’s Luncheon for the Arts

The Mayor's Luncheon for the Arts, held on Thursday, June 13th, was a resounding success, bringing the community together to celebrate and support the arts. Hosted by local favourite Cory Wojcik, the event featured  performances from the Dirty Catfish Brass Band and a sneak peek of the new musical Ma Buhay!, set to premiere at Rainbow Stage later this month, and a poem read by Winnipeg Poet Laureate Chimwemwe Undi.

Mayor Scott Gillingham addressed the enthusiastic crowd, highlighting the importance of the arts in enriching Winnipeg’s cultural fabric, and announced the winners of the Winnipeg Arts Council Awards, which recognize significant contributions to the arts in the city. This celebration acknowledges the efforts and achievements of artists and arts administrators who have made a notable impact both locally and beyond. Candace Hodgins, RBC’s Vice President of Commercial Financial Services, presented the RBC On the Rise Award for emerging artists. Arts patron Gail Asper also took the stage to present the Career Achievement in the Arts Award.

The event also honored Carol A. Phillips, the longtime Executive Director of the Winnipeg Arts Council, who will retire this fall, with a presentation by Chair Emerita Vonnie Von Helmolt and the "Carol Phillips Singers".

The winners of the 2024 Winnipeg Arts Council Awards are:

  • RBC On the Rise Award: Recognizes the promise of an emerging professional artist in any discipline.
    Winner: Ekene Emeka-Maduka
    Sponsored by RBC
  • Making a Mark Award: Applauds an established professional artist receiving critical recognition for excellence in their art practice.
    Winner: Sharon Bajer
    Sponsored by Gail Asper O.C, O.M, LL.D.
  • Making a Difference Award: Celebrates the contribution of an artist or arts administrator to the growth and development of the arts in Winnipeg.
    Winner: Jennine Krauchi
  • Career Achievement in the Arts Award: Honours an exceptional and enduring arts practice.
    Winner: Brenda Gorlick

Read more about the 2024 WAC Award Winners

2024 Mayor’s Luncheon for the Arts

Photo by April Carandang