Public Art Tours

Every piece of public art has a story. Join us on our free public art walking and biking tours this summer and learn all about public artwork in Winnipeg: where it is, why it's there, and what it means. 

Follow the links below for more information and to register for tours. Tours will run as scheduled rain or shine but will be cancelled in the event of a thunderstorm.

Please note that the tours do not always loop back to where they started. See the maps on the registration pages for more details.

Art At Lunch

Discover public art over the lunch hour! We’ll explore several artworks in a single location during this short 45 minute tour.

All Art At Lunch tours begin at noon.

Millennium Library - Tuesday, May 14

THIS PLACE - Friday, June 21 (National Indigenous Peoples Day)

Millennium Library - Tuesday, July 16

THIS PLACE - Tuesday, August 6

Millennium Library - Tuesday, September 10

Art Walks

Sign up for a walking tour and learn about public art in Winnipeg!

Jane's Walk - Friday, May 3 (12-1:30 PM)

Doors Open Winnipeg Tour: Public Art Past & Present - Saturday, May 25 (11 AM -12:30 PM)

Doors Open Winnipeg Tour: Public Art Past & Present - Sunday, May 26 (11 AM -12:30 PM)

First Friday Exchange Walk - Friday, June 7 (7 - 8 PM)

Downtown Art Walk - Saturday, June 15 (10 AM - 12 PM)

First Friday Exchange Walk - Friday, July 5 (7 - 8 PM)

Around the Legislature - Saturday, July 27 (10 AM - 12 PM)

Downtown/West End - Sunday, August 25 (1 - 3 PM)

Sunset in the City (Downtown/Exchange District) - Saturday, September 21 (6 - 8 PM)

Art Rides

Join us on an art ride and cycle around Winnipeg visiting public works!

Tour participants are responsible to provide their own bike and helmet. Ask us for bike rental recommendations! Bike Winnipeg volunteers will provide safety marshalls to direct us on the ride.

Bike Week Art Ride (North Winnipeg Bike Tour) - Sunday, June 23 (1 - 3:30 PM)

Downtown & Saint Boniface - Sunday, July 21 (6 - 8:00 PM)

South Winnipeg - Saturday, August 10 (1 - 3:30 PM)

Night Lights - Saturday, September 7 (7:30 - 10:00 PM)

Private Guided Public Art Tours

The Winnipeg Arts Council offers private tours of public art for school groups, corporate outings, and other events. These tours are subject to staffing availability and on a by-donation basis, with donations being used to further the work of the Winnipeg Arts Council in making the arts accessible to all. 

Please contact Alexis Kinloch at alexis@winnipegarts.ca for more details.

Gallery