Winnipeg Arts Council

WAC Arts Awards 2011

WAC Arts Award Winners for 2011
WAC Arts Award Winners for 2011
  • Jean Giguère

    For many years, Jean Giguère has been one of Winnipeg’s most dedicated and versatile cultural advocates. The Manitoba Theatre Centre, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet, the Writers’ Trust, the Writers Festival, the United Way, Culture Days and the Canadian Museum of Human Rights have all benefited from Jean’s tireless work on behalf of the arts and the people of Winnipeg.

    Nominated by Winnipeg Arts Council Board Nominations Committee

On the Rise

  • Ming Hon

    Ming Hon is an emerging choreographer, dancer/performance artist, who has achievements in solo performance works and collaborations with an incredible roster of national and internationally established artists, crossing boundaries between dance and visual art.

    Nominated by Plug In ICA

Making a Mark

  • 5468796 Architecture

    5468796 Architecture harnesses collective creativity around a single table to question the frontiers of architecture, material and space. Their work focuses upon exploring artistic means to better the built environment.

    Nominated by David Penner

Making a Difference

  • Zaz Bajon / Diane Whitehouse

    Zaz Bajon came to Winnipeg to assume the duties of General Manager at the Manitoba Theatre Centre. Through his work and volunteerism he sets the stage for the advancement of theatre and the development of artists in Winnipeg and the region. Zaz has truly made a difference.

    Diane Whitehouse was nominated for this award because of her dedication to teaching, her unstinting community work, and especially her vision and labour in founding MAWA, resulting in the advancement and support of women artists.

    Nominated by Manitoba Theatre Centre / Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art

Arts Champion

  • Great-West Life and Investors Group

    For decades, Great-West Life and Investors Group, sister companies within the Power Financial Corporation family, have either separately or together, demonstrated corporate leadership through their sustained commitment to the arts in Winnipeg.

    Nominated by Winnipeg Arts Council Board Nominations Committee