Winnipeg Arts Council

WAC Arts Awards 2013

WAC Arts Awards 2013 Winners
WAC Arts Awards 2013 winners

RBC On the Rise

  • Curtis Nowosad

    With a recent CD, invitation to the Banff Centre and the Betty Carter program, and scholarship bids from both Juilliard and the Manhattan School of Music, drummer Curtis Nowosad is truly a rising star.

    Nominated by Charlene Diehl

  • Kevin Lee Burton

    Kevin Lee Burton (Swampy Cree) is an award-winning filmmaker, programmer and freelance editor.

    Nominated by Daina Warren

  • Samantha Hill

    Samantha Hill is a young actor who, having honed her skills in Winnipeg, has made the leap to the world stage while maintaining strong ties to the Winnipeg theatre community.

    Nominated by Dry Cold Productions

  • Ashley Hirt

    Ashley is a talented screen professional and actor. In 2008 she was an NSI graduate, and now she is Head of Development at the new Winnipeg production company Red Czarina.

    Nominated by National Screen Institute

  • Ryan Segal

    Ryan is a passionate theatre producer dedicated to presenting exciting, relevant and high-caliber theatre that draws a young and exceptionally engaged audience.

    Nominated by Tatiana Carnevale

Making a Mark

  • Deco Dawson

    Deco Dawson is an international award-winning filmmaker and theatre designer working in Winnipeg. His work demonstrates a remarkable command of the medium, often blurring the lines of any given genre while creating visually stunning, surreal, and psychologically captivating independent films.

    Nominated by Carson Natrass

  • Mike Maryniuk

    Mike Maryniuk is a gifted mentor, teacher and award-winning filmmaker who specializes in handmade experimental films created with love and humour. He is a lynchpin of Winnipeg's independent film community.

    Nominated by Winnipeg Film Group

  • Divya Mehra

    Divya Mehra has garnered significant national and international recognition for her media-based work through which her often humourous sensibility addresses the displacement of South Asians in Western Society.

    Nominated by Plug In ICA

Making a Mark

  • Doreen Brownstone

    Doreen Brownstone is one of Winnipeg’s most celebrated actors, with a stage, film and television career that spans six provinces and more than 50 years. Doreen’s commitment, drive and talent seem to defy the boundaries of time, leading her to be the first Canadian Stage actor to work past the age of 80. She was the only actor to work at the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre during both its first and fiftieth seasons!

Making a Difference

  • Odette Heyn & Faye Thomson

    The School of Contemporary Dancers is recognized as a leading national centre for professional contemporary dance training in Canada. Directed by Odette Heyn and Faye Thomson, the Professional Program is renowned for its excellent training methods and high caliber of its students and graduates.

    Nominated by Stephanie Ballard

  • Cam Bennett

    Cam's commitment to the community's emerging and experienced film and TV producers has resulted in hundreds of documentaries, lifestyle and variety programs.

    Nominated by National Screen Institute

  • Columpa Bobb

    Award-winning, multiple-disciplinary performance artist Columpa Bobb propels artistic development and social change with her distinctive theatre program for young Aboriginals that has influenced thousands of people over the last decade.

    Nominated by Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre

  • Henry Engbrecht

    Henry Engbrecht, Professor Emeritus, is a widely respected choral music educator, conductor and artistic director. During his 54-year career, he's directed countless school, university, community and professional choirs, and has defined the choral landscape of this province.

    Nominated by Canzona & Manitoba Choral Association

  • Sherry Farrell Racette

    Dr. Sherry Farrell Racette is a scholar and artist whose work contributes to the broader understanding of Métis and First Nations women's history.

    Nominated by School of Art Gallery

  • Robert Metcalfe

    PTE's longest-serving Artistic Director, Robert Metcalfe, has led a $2.5 million renovation of the company's home and championed playwrights through establishing the Carol Shields Festival of New Works and the 10-member Playwrights Unit.

    Nominated by PTE Playwrights Unit

  • Elise Nadeau

    Elise Nadeau, Executive Director of the Edge Village and Gallery, is a professional artist dedicated to providing accessible art experiences to people of all ages and backgrounds.

    Nominated by Art City

  • Louis Ogemah

    As founder of Urban Shaman Gallery and contributor to various arts organizations in Winnipeg, Louis Ogemah has made a strong mark on the Winnipeg arts scene.

    Nominated by Cathy Mattes

Arts Champion

  • Gail Asper

    Gail Asper's commitment to the arts is indefatigable. Her support is evident not just through her financial contributions (of which there are many) but through her work as an advocate, fundraiser, volunteer and arts administrator.

    This is a second paragraph.

    Nominated by Dry Cold Productions & Winnipeg Folk Festival

  • Campbell McIntyre

    Campbell McIntyre has championed Rainbow Stage for over four decades as a loyal patron: enthusiastic volunteer, committed board member, tireless fundraiser, generous donor and instrumental in the organization's 2005 revival.

    Nominated by Rainbow Stage

  • Manitoba Bar Association

    For over 23 years the MBA has championed RMTC through their members who volunteered their time to rehearse and perform in 19 highly successful fundraising productions.

    Nominated by Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre

  • William F. White International

    William F. White International

    William F. White is well-loved in the Winnipeg production community. Since NSI's arrival here in 1998, their support of our training programs has been invaluable to writers, directors and producers.

    Nominated by National Screen Institute

Outstanding Volunteer Award

  • Alison Norberg

    In her five years as President of the MCC Board, Alison Norberg has, with wisdom, professionalism and a huge commitment of time, guided the organization through a period of renewal marked by innovation, collaboration and financial stability.

    Nominated by Manitoba Craft Council

  • Gerry Berard

    One of the hardest working volunteers around, Gerry Berard is truly outstanding. Just ask one of the five arts groups he's worked with over the years.

    Nominated by West End Cultural Centre

  • Heather Cram

    Heather Cram is a passionate advocate for the important role art plays in building better places, places that are livable, enjoyable and foster transformative experience.

    Nominated by School of Art Gallery

  • Kevin Friesen & Pam Poulter-Friesen

    Pam and Kevin are dedicated to supporting folk music in Winnipeg by volunteering their medical skills at the Winnipeg Folk Festival.

    Nominated by The Winnipeg Folk Festival

  • Tracy Peters

    Tracy Peters was pivotal in helping MAWA to retire a substantial deficit, build one of the most successful arts fundraisers in the city, and secure MAWA's first corporate sponsorships. She has also provided care and support to staff, Board, volunteers, visiting artists and members.

    Nominated by Mentoring Artists for Women's Art

  • Nicola Schaefer

    Since moving to Winnipeg over 40 years ago, Nicola Schaefer has been a tireless volunteer in the arts. Her quiet, exemplary leadership has been an inspiration and her tireless efforts have made meaningful and enduring contributions.

    Nominated by Agassiz Music Festival